me: 1, grandma: 40

Over a year ago I worked on composing a score for my friend Tad Nakamura’s documentary, Pilgrimage, about the annual pilgrimage to the Manzanar WWII Japanese American internment camp.  As the back of the DVD more eloquently describes it: “with a hip music track and never-before-seen archival footage, Pilgrimage tells how an abandoned WWII concentration camp for Japanese Americans was transformed into a symbol of retrospection and solidarity for people of all ages, races and nationalities in our post 9/11 world.”  Anyways, Tad as usual did an amazing job on the doc, and the film went on to get official selection at the Sundace Film Festival.

Earlier this year Tad told me he entered the film in a new tiny film festival called “Show off your Short,” and that I got nominated for Best Composer.  And then a few months later he tells me… I won!  So at the latest Mouse Kills Tiger show, Tad texts me and says “yo, I’m coming to the show and I’m bringing your award!”  I expected he would hand me some little Kinko’s-printed certificate, but he hands me this:

Maybe now I can put it on display next to my grandma’s wall of about 40 golf trophies:

I was laughing at how prestigious the award looks and how ackward I feel receiving it, considering there’s a lot of really great non-score songs that Tad included in the film that I had no part in creating.  But hey, I’ll take what I can get!

Published in: on July 6, 2008 at 11:29 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://senzofdepth.wordpress.com/2008/07/06/me-1-grandma-40/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. WOW!!! That’s SOOOO AWESOME MILES!

    And LOL at your Grandma’s golf trophies! She has more than my DAd! :O


Leave a Reply

